Strawberry & Lime

Good Morning!!

Thank you all SO much for your kind words on yesterday’s post. It definitely made me smile! Smile I just need to stay focused and remind myself WHY I’m taking this test when I begin to doubt myself. It will be worth it at the end.

So randomly this weekend I happened to mention to Craig that I was craving Skittles. I have NO idea why..and I really never eat candy. (Sorry Janae, I hope we can still be friends Winking smile ) I just don’t love it like I love frozen yogurt, so I just stick to frozen yogurt. And like I’ve said before, I inherited the ‘ice cream gene’ from my Dad, so I can’t help myself! So when I ran out to the grocery store, these just happened to land in my cart.
skittles

Oops! Winking smile I love how it says it’s the ‘share size,’ when it fact I think it means to say the ‘Holly size.’ Sorry Craig, I’m not about to share my Skittles! (good thing he doesn’t like them too much, otherwise I might feel a tiny bit greedy Winking smile )

Once I opened the package I found myself picking out certain flavors. I’m one of the odd people that LOVES grape. It’s my favorite flavor. I would always love when everyone would pick out all of their grape flavors & then give them to me. The best part was that I didn’t even have to trade anything for them…because no one wanted them! Ha!

Bulk%20Purple%20Skittles

I loved grape EVERYTHING. My favorite daily occurrence of grape was in my Flintstone’s chewable vitamins. Remember those?
flintstones-pills

I would always pick out all of the grape ones first, and leave the orange ones for last. I actually HATED the orange ones…and tried to throw them out before my parents noticed…but they caught on & made me eat the orange ones too. I lived such a hard life a kid, huh?! Winking smile

Anyways, as I was eating my Skittles I also remembered how I would only eat certain combinations of Skittles together. Like the lime & lemon, or the lemon & orange. It was either specific combinations or I just ate each flavor by itself. I remember when I was in elementary school & I was eating Skittles with one of my friends. I noticed she was eating a certain combination of flavors that had never considered before. Strawberry & Lime. I thought it was SO odd, but when I tried it I realized why she liked it so much, it was good! So now every time I eat Skittles I always eat the strawberry & lime flavors together.
combination

This made me think of other strange combinations that I like to eat. Of course we all know of the traditional combinations….

Peanut Butter & Jelly …the most well-known combination of all time
20070401istockpbjbeauty
(oh, and pb & j’s MUST have grape jelly…any other jelly just will not work Smile )

Peanut Butter & Chocolate …possibly the BEST combination ever invented
dead-reese-cup

Chips & Dip …the best football snack ever
rotel_cheese_dip

Ice Cream & Sprinkles … we all love it & it just makes you smile Smile
ice-cream-with-sprinkles

(& how does that look right about now?! Ice cream for breakfast…? Sure why not?! Winking smile )

Then I started to thinking about the odd combinations that I eat that aren’t ‘typical.’

*Pretzels & Yogurt – love the salty sweet/ combination

*A sandwich with chips IN the sandwich, I can’t eat a sandwich without chips- I love the crunch in it. Craig just thinks I’m a weirdo & gives me strange looks.

*Apples & chicken Winking smile

*Cinnamon & popcorn

*Saltines & Jelly (I have a HUGE love for Saltines..it’s bad. I could eat a whole sleeve of Saltines & not think twice about it…so I try not to buy them too much.)

*Ice cream & cereal (YUM)

I guess they aren’t all SO odd. I am definitely all about trying new things, and sometimes have the strangest ideas for combinations of flavors. Sometimes it works…sometimes it doesn’t, but it’s worth the try. Smile

Do you have any strange combinations that you like?
Do you find any ‘traditional’ combinations gross?

I always love trying new things, so I might just have to try some of your odd combinations!Smile with tongue out

Hope you all have a fabulous Friday Eve!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I love a lot of the combinations of things that you mentioned. I think chocolate and peanut butter have to be the best combo ever! 🙂 Here are some strange ones that I like, ice cream and pretzels, and mayo and french fries. I’m sure there are more. I just can’t think of them off the top of my head.

    Reply
  2. I eat all of your odd eats 🙂 I think my favorite combo is everyones favorite..chocolate and peanut butter!!

    Reply
  3. My favorite odd combination is swiss cheese and peanut butter sandwiches. It is so dang good! ha!

    My favorite normal taste combination is probably chocolate and pb.

    Reply
  4. Nicole Soffian

     /  October 20, 2011

    I am the same way about potato chips and my sandwhiches 🙂 A recent obsession I’ve come across is breading items with common things in your pantry. Tilapia crusted Cheetos or Ritz crusted Chicken Wings (presoaked in Hot Sauce for a little kick). I am interested to see what you can find in your pantry to “Crust” something.

    Reply
  5. OMG i love the grape ones toooooooo! however, for jelly, i strongly prefer raspberry. one of the grossest combos i do is put peanut butter & jelly in my cottage cheese, ha!

    Reply
  6. So, my strange combinations…..
    1. cheetos & pb/j sammies…where you put the chips in the sammie, i put the cheetos in my pb & j…yep, weird
    2. When I was a kid, I dipped marshmallows in grape juice. Yeah, can’t believe I just admitted that.
    3. Pretzels and peanut butter or pretzels and hummus is one of my faves.

    the “normal” combinations THAT I HATE:
    1. chocolate and mint….
    2. this one could lose me a few friends..chocolate and peanut butter…

    Normal combos I love:
    1. carrots and ranch dressing
    2. chips and salsa and/or chips and guacamole

    those combos are just to name a few!

    Reply
  7. The red skittles are my fave… and I HATE the green ones! 🙂

    I definitely think the best food combos are pb & chocolate, apples and cinnamon, and ice cream and sprinkles:)

    Reply
  8. Mmm… those are some great combinations!

    Reply
  9. I am not an “odd combo” fan–I’m the kind of person who doesn’t let their food touch on their plate because clearly I’m five years old! However, I do LOVE putting chips in my sandwich! My mom taught my siblings and me that when we were younger, though I haven’t done it in a while!

    Reply
  10. Lola

     /  October 22, 2011

    Hahah, I am the opposite. I lovee the artificial orange flavor and hate artificial grape. It might have been because all those times I got sick as a child, my mom would give me grape medicine. Yup… that was probably what ruined it for me.

    My favorite strange combo: cottage cheese & peanut butter
    Feeling a bit risky? Try this snack:

    Toast
    with peanut butter
    then a thin layer of cottage cheese
    crack of black pepper
    then chopped walnuts to give it a nice crunch

    Reply
  11. I love drinking milk when I eat spaghetti. I guess that’s kind of weird. I also love pretzels and yogurt.

    If you like popcorn and cinnamon, try kettle corn and Old Bay together. It’s sweet with a little spice…and, I’m sure your MD hubby would like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

