Best Day of the Week

Happy Sunday!!

Sunday is my favorite day of the week…not only is it FOOTBALL Sunday..but I just really like Sundays. Wake up to a nice big breakfast, and then just relax for a bit. I always just feel so relaxed on Sundays. Anyone else feel this way?

So, let’s rewinddddd and go back to yesterday.

I DID do my 10 miler- woohoo!! I managed to keep every mile 8:30 & under! I was feeling REALLY good- I could of gone a few more miles, but I didn’t want to over do it. My calves were feeling pretty tight, so I just wrapped it up a little over 10 miles. Honestly I just get so bored sometimes when I run for that long- I need some more excitement on my runs ๐Ÿ˜€

After finishing my run, I went to go & get ready to visit my friend Cori. I had not seen her in a few weeks- which had been WAY too long. I asked her if she was hungry before I left, because I STARVING! Sometimes it takes forever for me to get hungry afterย a run, but I was beyond ready to eat. Maybe since I just had a bowl of Special K & Fiber One for breakfast- it just didn’t hold me over long enough. Anyways, she texted me back and said ‘what about spring rolls?’ I was SOLD! If you have read my blog for any amount of time, you probably know I’m obsessed with spring rolls. I LOVE them!..and they are so hard to make at home- I can just never get them right. So, I called in the order- I got 2 orders- one for each of us. I was thinking that they would come with 4 each, which would be perfect. Well, unfortunately, they only came with TWO each. I was TOTALLY bummed…and so was my tummy.

summer rolls

Thank goodness the peanut sauce is so good!! ๐Ÿ˜€ That made up for it.

Needless to say, about 2 hours after eating those, I was really to STUFF MY FACE! The only probably was that it was like 4pm, and I didn’t want to eat a ton, considering I had a big dinner planned for Craig & I. It was Smoothie King to the hunger rescue!!

Perfect 'hold me over' kind of snack

I got ‘Angel Food’ with no turbinado. It was quite tasty! I had never tried that flavor before, but I’m sure glad I did ๐Ÿ˜‰

As for dinner…I really had no idea what we were going to do. I was thinking of channeling my ‘inner-Julie’ and grabbing Jimmy Johns for the two of us. But, then the cooking bug bit me as I was driving back home from seeing Cori. I made a swing by the grocery store to pick up the needed supplies for dinner. I really had NO idea what I was going to make- I just kind of strolled the aisles & some ideas came to me. I had the idea of incorporatingย  hummus into dinner somehow. After seeing a few different people’s blog, including the most recent- Mrs.Janetha’s blog ๐Ÿ™‚ – I figured I would make stuffed chicken breasts- with spinach artichoke hummus, spinach, and mozzarella cheese.

the needed ingredients: chicken breasts, bread crumbs, tomato sauce, hummus, mozzarella & spinach (<-not seen)

Spinach & Artichoke Hummus

ย Cut the chicken breasts in half, and add about 1 tsp. of hummus to middle of the chicken breasts. Add chopped spinach (as much as you want), then add about a slice of mozzarella to each breast. (<- I tore it in pieces to make sure it was evenly distributed ๐Ÿ™‚ )

stuffed chicken breasts

Then fold each chicken breast back over, and roll them in tomato sauce, and then in the bread crumbs. Put the chicken in a greased baking pan, or baking dish.

breaded & ready for the oven

ย Bake for about an hour at 350 degrees.

baked & ready to EAT!!

Along with the chicken, I made some Carba Nada noodles & plain tomato sauce.

the BEST noodles EVER. period.

I’m running low on my Carba Nada supply, I gotta stock up soon!! Which means I’ll have to make a trip home soon (Jacksonville) since I can buy them at The Fresh Market there…and I need to do some wedding stuff too ๐Ÿ˜€

inside look @ the chicken ๐Ÿ™‚

my plate- half of a chicken breast, lots of noodles, and a piece of whole wheat bread

This dinner was so good!! I love the incorporation of hummus into the chicken- it makes such a great flavor!! Totally recommend cooking with hummus ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night we just watched some college football & then a movie- Armored.

It was actually really good. I was kind of like ehhh at first, but the whole time it was like high supense. My heart was beating pretty rapidly during the whole movie- lol!! ๐Ÿ˜€

After that, I called it a night.

This morning we woke up brightย & early- like around 7am! I definitely wanted to sleep in a bit more, but my body was like ‘no way jose!’ So I figured I would get up & try a new recipe that I just saw on Mama Pea’s blog for Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte. I did change it a bit, only because I don’t have any non-dairy products, well except for Almond Milk. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s what I did:

Pumpkin Spice Latte

  • 1 c. strongly brewed coffee (can use flavored variety, if desired)
  • 3/4 c. non-dairy milk skim milk
  • 1 T. non-dairy vanilla low fat caramel creamer
  • 2 T. canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. ginger
  • 1/4 t. ground nutmeg
  • dash garam masala (optional; this is an Indian spice that gives it a nice little kick)ย <- didn’t have, so I didn’t use
  • stevia Splenda to taste

Then all you do is brew your coffee, and mix all of the other ingredients together and heat it up in the microwave for about 2 minutes. Mama Pea says to put the mixture of ingredients into a blender, but I just used a whisk to combine all of the ingredients until it got kind of frothy.

mixed ingredients

I added half of mixture to a cup, and then poured in coffee to make it a full cup.

Pumpkin Latte for Craig

I let Craig try it first to get his opinion. When he first saw it, he thought it was Bailey’s- lol!! But then when he took a sip, he said ‘Whoa!’ I think he was quite impressed!! He said it tasted just like the one at Starbucks!ย YAY! And let me tell you, this boy LOVES his Starbucksย pumpkin spice lattes. ๐Ÿ™‚

I made mine with the other half of the mix.

inside of the mug

Delicious-ness in a cup ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks Mama Pea for a great recipe!! No needs to spend $4 for coffee anymore.

On to breakfast- I asked Craig what he was feeling for breakfast- he said nice fluffy, chocolate chip pancakes…so that’s what he got! I kind of just threw stuff together for the pancake mix- and I have learned that sometimes when you do that, you actually get things that taste WAY better than you expected! Even though I didn’t really want pancakes, I took a bite of one to make sure they passed the taste test before giving them to Craig- and my oh my- they were some of the best pancakes I have ever made! They actually tasted like chocolate chip cookies!! Not bad, huh?!

chocolate chip pancakes for the boy

I was feelin’ eggs this morning- so I made 3 egg whites with spinach & a toasted sandwich thin with low sugar grape jelly.

my breakfast

This was exactly what I wanted- it was perfect! Sometimes I’m like whatever about having eggs, but today it was a must! I guess since I didn’t have any this past week, my body was craving them.

My workout today was kind of strange- it was just a hodge podge of a bunch of stuff.

I start with a light jog at 6.5 mph for 5 minutes.
Then I did sprints for 5 minutes- at 9.0 speed.
Next was 10 minutes of incline walking- 12% incline, 3.2 mph

Next I did some full body weight kind of routine:
Fly Awaysย (12 each leg)
-20ย bicep curls with 5lb. eachย (that’s all I have at home)
In & Out Lungesย (15 each leg)
-Reverse Lunges (15 each leg)
-20 bicep curls with 5lb. each
Ski Boot Sit (15)ย ย 
-20 regular squats
-20 tricep dips
-Plie Squats with pulse at the end- with 30lb. weight- 15 reps
-20 tricep dips
Side Shaper– 12 each side
-20 crunch & lifts
-20 upside down crunches
-50 stability ball roll in crunches
-50 crunches on stability ball

That was it! Quite a combination of a bunch of stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was about a 40 minute workout, and I burned about 350 calories- not too bad for something just kind of thrown together.

Right now we are watching the RAVENS v. Browns game. I don’t know what it is, but it seems like the Ravens can’t just get it together. Poor Craig is pretty much freaking out. He keeps beating the couch- I swear it’s going to crack in half one day ๐Ÿ™‚

I have faith in them, and I know they will pull it off…I just wish they looked a bit better…ESPECIALLY against the Browns.

Well I’m off to continue watching the game- GO RAVENS!

Hope you enjoy your Sunday!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. janetha

     /  September 26, 2010

    Your chicken looks awesome! Thanks for the holler. Mama pea’s latte looked so good. I’ve gotta try it. Saturday is my favorite day … Sunday a close second!

    Reply
  2. Wow-you have had such a productful day. Your pumpkin Spice Latte looks like exactly what I want to have right now-so infact I’m going to whip one up ha.

    The Ravens don’t play the Panthers until November 24, so I suppose I can wish them luck today hehe. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. You go girl with that run and speed. very impressed! Also, good for you for listen to your body and stopping rather than potentially hurting yourself by pushing on. Sometimes it’s so easy to just keep going b/c we feel ok at that moment. Hope you have a great evening!

    Reply
  4. that’s how i feel about saturdays now that i like college football, haha. but sundays really are awesome as long as you make them fun and don’t think about having to work the next day. i love that you made your own latte – yum!

    Reply
  5. I have to try that pumpkin latte too.

    Reply
  6. Love Sundays ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on your 10 miler!

    Reply
  7. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  September 27, 2010

    The dinner looks amazing! I have to try it for sure!

    Reply
  8. Your run was amazing Holly! I’m so impressed.

    And I just have to say, I miss Sundays. I work on them now, so Saturday is like my Sunday. Boo ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Also, I miss you and your bloggy. I need to make time in my crazy life to visit more. Like you know, when I randomly wake up at 3AM and can’t go back to sleep.

    Reply
  9. thecookiemonster

     /  September 28, 2010

    I’m more of a Saturday girl ๐Ÿ™‚

    Latte looks awesome! Gonna have to try that later ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

Leave a comment