Grasshopper Cake

Monday, Monday….you once again have come too soon. But I have a good feeling this week is going to be a GREAT week 😀

Yesterday was spent doing LOTS of wedding stuff…and by lots I mean the ENTIRE living room floor was FILLED with wedding stuff. It took me a good 30 minutes just to clean up! We have decided to change a few things- one of them being the favors. We were going to do wine stoppers for everyone, but have changed our minds. I’m going to be making the favors (along with my Mom, Aunt & sister) instead of getting the wine stoppers. We are still going to be incorporating the wine stoppers, but in the welcome bags for our guest from out of town, instead of as favors.

I can’t wait to tell you about the favors, because I’m such a cheeseball & came up with a slogan to include on each of them. Just wait…I’m sure you will want to laugh at me…and that’s ok 😉

We are also not doing the traditional numbers for the tables. Instead we are going to use a picture of something about us at each of the tables. Then people will just match up their picture to the picture on the table 🙂 I promise to have pictures to make this a bit easier to understand! I just want to show my Mom in person first- which will be this upcoming weekend.

Anyways, since we did have a special guest this weekend, I also had to make him a special dessert 🙂 Since I do not cook desserts for Craig & I since we really doing like keeping sweets in the house, I always use that as a time to make a dessert that I have been eyeing for a while! This one happened to be one that I found on Julie’s blog. She made Grasshopper cupcakes! Instead of cupcakes I made a cake.

I copied her recipe exactly! & I also used her recipe for Mint Buttercream Frosting <—-how good does that just SOUND?!

Like Julie, I used the Dunkin Hines Butter Recipe Fudge Cake Mix. I followed the instructions on the box, except that I used egg whites instead of eggs. I also made two 8 x 8 cakes- one for dessert for Saturday night & then one for me to bring into my work today for my boss’ birthday!

The Mint Buttercream icing is the BOMB! No joke, I could NOT get my fingers out of the bowl. I was in fear that I might not have enough for the cakes! 🙂

This recipe is also from Julie’s blog! I just copy & pasted it here.

Mint Buttercream Icing

Ingredients

  • 1 c. butter (2 sticks)
  • 4-5 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used 2 percent)
  • 1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract (add little by little until you get the level of mint flavor you desire)
  • 2 drops green food coloring

Directions

  • Beat butter for about two minutes,  or until creamy
  • Add 4 c. powdered sugar, milk, food coloring and peppermint extract and beat until combines
  • Beat in additional cup of powdered sugar


The frosting matched my mixer 🙂 Love that color!

Once the cake cooled, I cut it in half & then put icing in the middle as well as on the top.

I topped the cake off with some more minty things…


Chopped Junior Mints 🙂

Here’s a look at the inside:

All three of us could not stop saying HOW GOOD this cake was!! I can’t believe I had never had grasshopper cake. Even Craig was like, ya of course I’ve heard of grasshopper cake! This was shocking coming from the guy that never cooks..I felt like I was missing out on something. I sure was missing out- this is definitely a keeper!! I can’t wait to have more guests to feed them this cake! 🙂

Well, I’m off- gotta get some work done on this Monday morning. Hope that you have a wonderful day!

PS: Don’t forget to ‘follow’ me on Twitter! I love sending random ‘tweets’ out during the day 🙂

PSS: Skinny Runner is doing a GIVEAWAY for GU- all you have to do is click one thing!! 🙂 GO enter!

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  March 7, 2011

    I agree with you, Monday came way too soon!

    Can’t wait to see some pictures about your wedding things 🙂

    Yum! As always, that cake looks great! Is there anything special in the cake itself or is it just the Mint Butter Cream Frosting that makes it a “grasshopper” cake?

    I’ll follow you on Twitter 🙂

    Reply
  2. I never knew what grasshopper cake was til I saw it on Julie’s blog either!!!

    This could very well be the cake I make for my mister’s birthday in a month! He loves chocolate and mint.

    I would looove to follow you on twitter BUT I have not gotten into twitter. I’m holding out! 😀 You should totally make a Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices FB fan page though…. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I used to LOVE those grasshopper cookies as a kid.

    Reply
  4. NOM!

    We also did pictures instead of numbers except we did our pets and our immediate family’s pets since they are all so dear to us!

    Reply
  5. Yum! I love this – mint flavor is right up my alley!!!!

    Reply
  6. Oh my goodness. I cannot wait to hear about your favours! HA. I love minty things and that cakes looks delicious. If only I lived a couple hours north near you ha. 😉

    Reply
  7. This Italian Family

     /  March 7, 2011

    Yay for so much wedding planning!! 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear all about your favors!! I know they’re going to be great!

    Oh wow! That cake looks so yummy. Christopher would love it. He’s a mint/chocolate fan. 🙂

    Reply
  8. More great ideas for Fat Tuesday… even though I’ve been enjoying Fat Saturday, Fat Sunday, Fat Monday… =)

    Reply
  9. Mmm, that mint frosting sounds awesome. I would love to crumble up some Thin Mints on that action!

    Reply
  10. OH my gosh that frosting looks amazing!!! 🙂

    Reply
  11. so funny you made this! A friend is coming over on Sunday night and we are making the cupcakes!

    Reply
  12. Love the idea for the tables and going non traditional. I love seeing people think outside the box and do their own thing for weddings. That cake looks delicious! 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment