Fishy, Fishy!

Good Morning, Friends 🙂

Yesterday wasn’t such a good day for me. I actually had to take a half day at work because I was feeling so bad. 😦 My stomach was KILLING me & I was hunched over all morning…because I was in so much pain. I really didn’t want to take anytime off because of all of the time that I am taking off for the wedding. But I was hurting so bad that I had to go. I’m really lucky that my boss understands about all of the Crohn’s disease issues. He didn’t even question when I asked to leave, he just told me to go home. I think he could tell that I just wasn’t myself the whole morning. Normally I am really chatty & quite the jokester, but yesterday morning I just sat quietly at my desk no saying much.

So yesterday afternoon was spent just relaxing. I left work at 12:30pm & came straight home & went to lay down. I went right to sleep, but then woke up around 2pm because my stomach was screaming- it was hungry! I didn’t eat breakfast yesterday because I really did not feel like eating anything. Luckily I was able to eat a big salad & some animal crackers 🙂 Animal crackers always do the body good 😉

I’m feeling much better this morning…thank goodness! I think the Crohn’s might be acting up a bit more lately because of the wedding coming up. I think it’s just the added stress that comes with planning a wedding. I don’t feel stressed, but I am ALWAYS thinking about wedding stuff. Wedding brain for sure! I just want to make sure everything goes exactly as planned & that everyone has a good time.

Anyways, I figure I would share with you a recipe that I tried recently. A ‘Jessica recipe’ has not been on the blog lately, so I had to fix that 😉 I noticed that Tilapia was on sale at Publix for $5.99 a pound- hard to beat!! So I figure I would pick some up & try a new recipe. 

Of course I headed straight to Jess’ blog to find the perfect recipe to use these filets in. I never fear that I won’t be able to find a dinner idea on Jessica’s blog…she has the best recipes! (But, DUH! You already knew that 😉 )

I decided on the ‘Healthy Homemade Fish Sticks’ Recipe. I used to LOVE fish sticks growing up. It was one of my absolute favorite meals. I think just my Dad & I really liked them, my Mom & sisters thought they were disgusting. Thankfully they would sacrifice their taste buds a few times a year for our love of fish sticks 🙂

I have to tell you, Jessica’s fish sticks are EVEN better than Gorton’s fish sticks….and they are known for their fish sticks. I think the reason that I loved Jessica’s recipe so much is that they had such a nice crunch to them. Most of the time it’s hard to get that perfect crunch…but I think the panko crumbs + a spritz of olive oil did the trick. Jess is genius I tell ya, genius 😀

I have copied the recipe from her blog, & added a few changes to it- so just click on the link to get the original recipe!

Healthy Homemade Fish Sticks

makes 12 fish sticks

3 tilapia filets (I’m sure you can use another fish too)

2 egg whites, beaten

1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs

1 teaspoon seasoned salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning

dash of cayenne pepper

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 450.

Lay a wire rack on a baking sheet and spray it with non-stick spray.

Cut the tilapia once down the middle, then in half, creating four “sticks.”

Season with salt and pepper. In a bowl, beat the 2 egg whites. In a separate bowl, add the panko, seasoned salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, Old Bay, cayenne pepper and parmesan cheese. Dip each fish stick in egg whites, then in the panko mixture, pressing to adhere. Lay on the wire rack and spritz with olive oil. (<–that is KEY** you must spray them with the olive oil, makes them so crunchy!!)

Bake for 10 minutes, then flip and bake for 10 more minutes. Serve hot!

How gooooood do they look?! They tasted just as good as they look! That PERFECT golden brown color..mmmmmm!

Along with the fish sticks, I roasted some yellow squash & zucchini.

All of those veggies were in honor of Jessica…I know how much she just LOVES veggies!! …I am totally kidding 😉

I also made some tabouleh Greek salad, because I absolutely love tabouleh & I always forget abou it for some reason.

Here it is, all together:

Tasty, healthy, filling meal 😀

Oh, before I go, I picked up this book the other day at Barnes & Noble:

Something Borrowed!! I want to read the book before the movie comes out early next month.

Have you read Something Borrowed yet? Did you like it, if you did read it?

What is your favorite type of fish? Mine is definitely mahi mahi! Yum!

What are your favorite types of roasted veggies?? I really can’t narrow it down, I pretty much like them ALL roasted…well, except brussel sprouts..but that’s because I have never tried them roasted. It’s only because I always hated them, but I hear they taste totally different if they are roasted.

Catch up with you later 🙂 Enjoy your day!

PS: It’s ONE MONTH today until I’m going to be a MRS. !!! 😀 😀 😀

PSS: It’s someone’s BIRTHDAY today– go wish Julie a very Happy Birthday!! 😀

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. I read “Something Borrowed” last year. I had no idea they were even making a movie. I can’t wait to see it! Unfortunately there is no way the Hubs will go see that with me so I’ll probably end up waiting until it’s available on DVD and just rent it. : ) It’s a really cute book…hope you like it!

    Reply
  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  April 27, 2011

    I hope you feel better, girl! I am totally making those fish sticks for Lloyd- he loves fish sticks! Um, one of my favorite books EVER! Then you have to read the sequel, then you have to read all her other books!

    I love all roasted veggies! YUM!

    Reply
  3. So glad you like the fish sticks! And I love Something Borrowed. I read it the month it came out and was hooked. SO good.

    Reply
  4. Salmon is at the top for me but I really can’t discriminate they are just all so good. I love love love fish.

    I’m glad you got to go home and relax. PS: the leggings from a couple days ago are purple but they aren’t Ravens purple sadly. Ravens purple is deeper these are more pinkish blech. I’m sure target has purple though. 🙂

    Reply
  5. I think I love all roasted veggies! That’s really great that you have an understanding boss. It really makes all the difference sometimes. Hope you’re feeling better today.

    Reply
  6. I really want to read that book before seeing the movie also! I really need to buy that book and get reading! I think the movie comes out really soon! I can’t wait to see it! 🙂

    I love all roasted veggies. Roasted brussels sprouts are my favorite. They taste so good with some garlic salt sprinkled on them. Yum! 🙂

    Reply
  7. the fish sticks look really good! i need to try that. i read that book and loved it. i’m excited for the movie. my favorite roasted vegetable is either sweet potato or beets. 🙂

    Reply
  8. I am definitely trying that recipe! Looks amazing!!

    I hope your Crohn’s flare-ups die down a little bit as the wedding gets closer!! It’s definitely great that your boss understands though.

    Reply
  9. I love me some roasted veggies…nom…roasted root vegetables especially. So good!

    Feel better hon…I bet it’s nerves interacting with Crohn’s…keep calm and get married 😉

    Reply
  10. You voted for number 2 you weirdo!!!!

    Reply
  11. I am so sorry you had a bad day with your tummy! Shoot! I was hoping it was starting to get better! ;(

    Reply
  12. Laura

     /  April 27, 2011

    I bought Something Borrowed in the Honolulu airport and was halfway through it later that day. It’s definitely a good (and quick) read. I’m looking forward to the movie!

    Reply
  13. I haven’t seen the movie tie-in for that book’s cover yet! I looks fresh! I hope more of Giffin’s books become movies

    Reply
  14. Sorry you arent feeling well – I bet it is nerves! Remember that everyone is going to focused on you that day so don’t stress too much about details..

    I want to see that movie!

    Reply
  15. I’m with you on the Mahi Mahi, it is always so good! I only like fish that doesn’t taste fishy so there isn’t actually much fish I will eat! I haven’t read something borrowed but the movie looks right up my alley! I love roasted asparagus, green beans, and broccoli! All amazing! I didn’t like roasted brussel sprouts they left my house smelling stinky and not just because they smell when you cook them if you know what I mean=/

    Reply
  16. Rach @ This Italian Family

     /  April 27, 2011

    Aww feel better! Let us know how Something Borrowed is! Looks like my kinda book. 🙂

    Reply
  17. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  April 27, 2011

    I haven’t read Something Borrowed but I definitely want to, and I want to see the movie. It seems like every movie that is coming out now I want to go see!

    Thanks for sharing the fish sticks recipe. I love fish sticks so I will have to give it a try some time!

    Reply
  18. Oh dear! I’m so sorry you were sick. I took a sick day yesterday as well. It was just what the doctor ordered 🙂

    As for Something Borrowed – I’ve read, Something Borrowed and Something Blue! I loved these books. Emily Giffin is one of my fave authors and I’m so excited to see the movie. My guess is that you won’t be able to put it down.

    Congrats on one month to the big day! How exciting?!

    Reply
  19. Haha this is the second post I have read today with this title. Yum!

    Reply
  20. Kerry

     /  April 27, 2011

    Something Borrowed is excellent!! If you read Something Borrowed, you must also read Something Blue – the follow up to the story. Both are fantastic. Can’t wait for the movie!

    Reply
  21. Laura

     /  April 27, 2011

    Loved that book, and the sequel too! enjoy it!
    hope your tummy feels better, that sounds horrible 😦

    Reply
  22. My favorite fish is Mahi Mahi too and as for roasted veggies I love zucchini squash.
    I’m sorry you’re not feeling so well 😦 Hopefully it’ll get better as your nerves start to relax a bit more. Have a great day 🙂

    Reply
  23. I love the new header, it looks dazzling with your site 🙂
    My favorite fish is probably halibut, cod or tilapia (woops you said one!) because it is mild tasting and you can add so many flavors! Like you did with the above recipe, yummm
    I haven’t read that book yet, but want to before the movie is out too. For the most part I try to read the book first, like I did with Water For Elephants! I cannot waittt to see the movie

    Reply
  1. 7 Random Facts. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a comment