Mini Pancake Muffins

Good Morning!! Happy Sunday 😀

I have been up for quite a while this morning, just sipping on some coffee & watching my DVR-ed Royal Wedding! I saw all of the main re-caps on the internet & did catch some of the ceremony & the first kiss, but I like watching all of the pre- ceremony stuff- like where they talk about the fashion & the awesome hats!! Ha!

WHAT is that?!?! Lol!

I actually really liked the color of this one—>

That is Miriam Gonzalez Durantez, the wife of Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg. You know coral is the color of the season right now & I LOVE it!

Did you enjoy watching all of the fashion news? Did you have a favorite hat?

Regarding the ceremony, I really liked the fact that they did not include the word ‘obey’ in their vows! LOVE it! We are not including obey either. That was one of the main things I did not want- haha! Partly because we are writing our own vows, but also I just think it’s so outdated.

Anyways, I’m sure that you have read a TON of the Royal Wedding re-caps…so I won’t write too much about it 🙂

Well, I was trying to think of what I wanted to make for breakfast this morning. I always make a special breakfast on Sundays. Craig loves that I wake up before him & start making breakfast, so when he comes down stairs breakfast is almost ready for him..& it’s always  a surprise. …yes, once again you can call us cheese balls 😉 This morning I was thinking of what to make & pancakes kept coming to mind. I was thinking maybe Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes, but I know Craig isn’t a big pancake person. (weird, I KNOW! Who doesn’t love pancakes?!) So I decided on something else..

After a little bit of ‘Googling‘, I found exactly what I was looking for- Pancake Muffins!

I also wanted to use a new gift that we received the other day. One of the best part of being engaged is that it’s like Christmas for the months that you are engaged! You get home from work & find big packages on your porch- it’s awesome! Liz, you are going to know exactly what I mean & you’ll love it 🙂

A KitchenAid Immersion blender!!! YES! I was SO excited to get this. I LOVE these blenders & I love all of the attachments that it comes with. So, I had to find a recipe that I could try it out with 😉

I found a recipe on Bakearella.com for ‘Mini Maple Chocolate Chipe Pancake Muffins.’ I changed a few ingredients, to make it a bit more healthy…but you can always find the original recipe on her blog. If you haven’t checked out Bakerella, you definitely need to- such awesome ideas!! 🙂

For this recipe, I decided to make 3 different kinds of muffins– plain, chocolate chip & strawberry. I had strawberries the size of my head, so I wanted to make sure to use those too.

Mini Pancake Muffins
(based off of recipe above)

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons Splenda, or sweetener of your choice
2/3 cup unsweetened Almond milk
1 egg
2 tablespoons sugar free Maple Syrup
1 1/2  tablespoons melted margarine

Stir In’s:
1/4 cup milk chocolate chips
1/3 cup chopped strawberries

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and Splenda in a medium bowl. Sift together with a wire whisk.
  • In another bowl, stir unsweetened almond milk, egg, maple syrup and melted butter until just combined.
  • Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir with a spoon until combined.
  • I then divided up the batter equally into three bowls. To one bowl add the chocolate chips, to another add strawberries & then I kept one bowl with just plain batter.
  • Mix in toppings, until combined. Add about a tablespoon of batter to a greased mini muffin pan.
  • Bake for 8-9 minutes.

Makes 24 mini pancake muffins.

You can see the 3 different kinds- the strawberry, the plain has sprinkles, & the chocolate chips has the chocolate chips…imagine that 😉

Let cool slightly and remove from the pan. You may need to use a toothpick around the edges to separate the pancake muffins from the pan.
Serve immediately with warmed butter if you like or even just with maple syrup.

My favorite happened to be the strawberry ones, with strawberry jam on top.

YUM! I think I ate about 8 muffins…good thing they are mini, huh?! 😉 I love the idea of having pancakes in ‘muffin form’…or maybe it’s just because I like mini things.

They were really good with warmed syrup on top too. The best part is that they are really easy to make, & it seems like as soon as you pop them in the oven they are DONE! Baking time is only 8-9 minutes…so it’s a quick, easy breakfast 🙂

Now I’m off to work on some wedding things…get ready for a big wedding post tomorrow. I think we’ll also be going outside to get some sun- it’s absolutely gorgeous out!

I hope you enjoy your Sunday as well! Happy Beginning of May…& I finally get to say I’m GETTING MARRIED THIS MONTH:D

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. These are so cute! They look delicious, I can’t wait to try them. I like that the syrup is in the batter, less mess

    Reply
  2. Ohhhh my goodness! It’s finally MAY! 🙂 You must be so excited.

    These look great! I am thinking about making myself a more decadent breakfast than the usual tomorrow since I have 3 finals all in the same day haha…maybe this will be it!

    Reply
  3. Omg Holly LOVE it!!! Especially the ones with sprinkles 🙂

    Reply
  4. Holly I was in love from the title of this post. Every pancake with sprinkles is always for the win. But Craig doesn’t care for pancakes? Oh my goodness…if Aram didn’t like pancakes or waffles we would have a serious situation.

    Reply
  5. Haha, OMG, that hat was awful! I was at the gym working out while watching the coverage that morning, and it was so funny to see others react when she stepped out of the car.

    Mini pancake muffins look so cute!

    Reply
  6. whoa, those are some super strawberries! love it and what cute muffins. Happy MARRIED MONTH!

    Reply
  7. Ha! I was looking at the Queen’s granddaughters hat the whole time thinking about how horrible it looked! I even tweeted about it! I am mean but honestly look in a mirror….Your pancakes muffins look delicious Sound perfect for me since I cannot make pancakes on a griddle for the life of me!

    Reply
  8. Those mini muffins are the cutest thing ever. I love making mini things too but then I kinda lose track and keep eating them..Oops 😉
    And hooray for a May wedding!! Hope everything is going according to plan 😀

    Reply
  9. Ahh I got to get an immersion blender too! They can be used to make so many different recipes, are they pricey though?
    And those mini muffins are so dang adorable, and pretty colors too 🙂
    Happy May to you, the wedding day is oh so close 😀

    Reply
  10. these are so freaking cute! my roomie and i made vegan pancakes tonight…not so successful. wish i had seen this post earlier! 🙂 soooooooooo excited for your wedding pics!

    Reply
  11. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 2, 2011

    I love that you find recipes on other blogs and then make them your own! I especially love it because then I can make your recipe OR the original 😉

    Can I come over for breakfast the next time you make these?? 😉

    Reply
  1. Lack of Organization « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. Mini Me Invades My Kitchen | The Sometimes Healthy Living Blog
  3. Obey The Muffin Cap

Leave a comment