The Party Animals Came Out

Hi Guys πŸ™‚

I don’t even know where to start with this re-cap of the weekend. It has been such an AWESOME weekend!! I guess I’ll start with yesterday morning. When we got up I made breakfast for the two of us- Craig an egg, cheese & bacon bagel-wich. For me- the usual, some egg whites & toast. Then we let our food digest a bit, and then we headed to the gym.

For my gym workout- it was similar to the day before, but this time I did chest, back, shoulders & abs. Between each superset I ran .3 miles. It was a great workout. I have to say, my absolute favorite exercise for shoulders has to be Arnolds. IfΒ you ever need a new shoulder move, and you haven’t tried this one, I definitely suggest it.

like this, but start out doing a bicep curl, then continue like the picture

Favorite chest exercise- oldy, but a goody πŸ™‚

Flat bench chest press- I TOTALLY benched as much as the picture too πŸ˜‰

Favorite back exercise:
You use the pec deck machine, but face backwards instead of forwards.

instead of facing away from the seat, your face is pretty much in the seat

Those are just a few of my favorites πŸ™‚ They were included in some of my moves yesterday!

After the gym we came home & layed out for a few hours- ahhhhhhh so nice to get some sun. I was feeling WAY TOO white. Although, I did get a bit burnt 😦 Which is not good..but, yes I did have my sunblock on!

After we both took showers, we headed to Target so that I could get some gifts for my sister’s baby shower, which is October 23rd…and so that I could get some groceries for the week. Love those Super Targets πŸ˜€ I was surprised to find out that Craig actually wanted to go with me to the store! That usually NEVER happens- I don’t mind, but I’m happy to have him go with me!

Since there is a Starbucks inside of Target, we figured we would get our first dose of the IMFAMOUS Pumpkin lattes’!! WOOP WOOP! That just makes my little heart so happy to see all of the pumpkin flavored stuff.

Honestly I wasn’t feeling any hot coffee, so I asked if they BY chance happened to make anything Pumpkin flavored that was iced. To my utmost happiness he say, why YES they definitely do!!!!!! AHHHHHHH!! I was in my happy place when I heard that πŸ˜€ Did you know they made iced pumpkin drinks??!
Immediately I knew what I would be ordering- an iced Skinny Pumpkin Spice latte- perrrrrrrfect!

tall iced pumpkin HEAVEN on earth!!

It was a nice treat after a light lunch of roasted veggies. Craig got a regular pumpkin spice latte (the hot one). While I enjoyed my coffee oh so much, I got my needed groceries & some cute gifts for my sister- including a baby tub, some outfits, bath toys, bath soap, washclothes, towels, etc. I was on a ‘bath’ theme for all of her gifts πŸ™‚

When we got home, it was time to get ready for our NIGHT on the town πŸ™‚ We decided to celebrate our 2 year anniversary, which is actually today, last night. Since neither of us had work today, we didn’t have to worry about being home at a certain time, and we could really just enjoy ourselves.

Now, I have to give you a heads up, I didn’t take any pictures during our night out. I really just wanted to enjoy our time together & not have to worry about taking pictures every minute. You understand, right? πŸ™‚

Craig took me to Stonewood Tavern & Grille for dinner. This place is special to us because it is where we went for our first Valentine’s date πŸ™‚ We started out at the bar, Craig ordered an old fashioned martini- you know the kind with only gin & dry vermouth. And I ordered a mojito- which is my favorite mixed drink!

mmmm mojito πŸ™‚

After we enjoyed our drinks & talked about our time together so far, we sat down at a little private booth in the back- just right for the two of us.

We ordered a bottle of Francis Coppola Diamond Collection Cabernet Sauvignon.

This wine is so good! We figured we would get a bottle, since we would both probably want more than a glass of wine.

Then we proceeded to order a veggie & hummus flat bread for our appetizer. We spaced out our appetizer & meals- Craig said he wanted to extend our time for as long as we could πŸ™‚ So cute, that’s why I love him so much!

For my meal, I got an Asian salad (I ALWAYS get these when I go out to eat, if you haven’t noticed πŸ˜‰ ) but instead of getting the chicken that came with it, I asked if I could substitute shrimp- she said no problem! Craig got shrimp & scallop skewers with veggies & garlic mashed potatos. Both of our meals were OUTSTANDING! There was NO way I could finish my salad, it was huge, but I did enjoy every bite πŸ™‚

During our meals we discussed more wedding stuff- it tends to be the topic of most conversations now-a-days πŸ™‚ We figured out which bridesmaid will walk with with groomsmen. You see, we have 2 married couples in our party- like both of them will be in the wedding party. Mike & Steph- you know them :)- Craig’s brother & our Best Man, and Steph- Mike’s wife- she is a bridesmaid. And then we have my sister, Erin & her husband Hank. We figured that we would likeΒ the couplesΒ to be able to come out together- like even though Mike is the Best Man & Steph is not my Maid of Honor (although if you could have 2 Maids of Honor, she would be the other one), we still want them to do their entrance together. So my Maid of Honor, my best friend Lea, will walk out with one of our other groomsmen- Brad. I figure it’s ok to do it like that. I mean, when they walk in for the actual ceremony, then Lea & Mike will walk together, but not for the reception entrance.

After discussing much more wedding stuff (ahh, just love all the talk so much :D), we started discussing Honeymoon locations. We BOTH want to go to the Caribbean, some place where we can just lay on the beach all day. And we also like the idea of going to an all inclusive resort- so that way we won’t have to pay for anything separately, and wind up having a huge bill at the end. Bills = no fun!

a place like this- looks so relaxing, huh?

We also discussed a few other things- like the DJ, different favor ideas- thinking of maybe going with the photo booth rental idea- and different songs that we definitely want to have in our wedding.

After dinner, we both kind of wanted to extend our night even more- hahahahaa- the party animals somehow came back to us, just for the night! πŸ˜‰

We went to TGI Fridays- which is much closer to our house, and met up with some other friends & enjoyed a few drinks. Ok, I enjoyed ONE, where as my poor poor fiance decided to drink beer & have 2 shots of SoCo Lime. (people were buying them for him- as a celebration kind of thing- for our engagement) I said NO WAY JOSE to the idea of shots.

It was a REALLY fun night, and we headed home around midnight- see, not quite our old selves- in which we would of stayed out until about 3am- lol! But, when we got home it was straight to bed- or so I thought. Poor Craig was making best friends with the toilet- 😦 Poor guy, he got so sick. So, I sat by the door & got him water & some medication. He finally came out & then we both headed to bed.

This morning was really rough on Craig- he couldn’t even eat the breakfast I made. I made pumpkin waffles, but the whole time he was trying to eat them, he could barely take a bite.

pumpkin waffles

oh so delicious with syrup πŸ˜‰

I asked him if he wanted me to make him anything else- like toast, or eggs, or something like that. He half-jokingly, but half -seriously asked me if he could have fried food. Whenever he has gotten sick the night before- after drinking, he can ONLY eat fried chicken. LOL! That is the only thing that makes his tummy feel better. I told him I had to run to Publix after breakfast, and I would get him so chicken tendersΒ  & fries while I was there πŸ™‚

When I got home, he was so happy to eat that & he ate every bit of it! He started feeling better, and we laid around like slugs on the coach for a while & watched some tv & relaxed.

I cleaned the house, sent out some more Save the Dates & went thru some magazines that I had laying around- cut out the workouts or recipes that I wanted.

For my workout, I decided to do some incline running- OH YA- go hard or go home πŸ˜‰
MinutesΒ Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  SpeedΒ Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  Incline
0-5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 6.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  0
5-6Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  3.5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  5
6-7Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  6.5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  5
7-8Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  3.5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  6
8-9Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  6.3Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  6
9-10Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 3.5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 7
10-11Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  6.1Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  7
11-12Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  8
12-13Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  5.9Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  8
13-14Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  9
14-15Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  5.7Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  9
15-16Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  10
16-17Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  5.5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  10
17-18Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 11
18-19Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 5.3Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  11
19-20Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  12
20-21Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 5.1Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  12
21-22Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  13
22-23Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  4.9Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 13
23-24Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  14
24-25Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 4.7Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  14
25-26Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  3.0Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  15
26-27Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  4.5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 15
27-30Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  3.5Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 0

This KICKED MY BUTT!!Β (in a good way, of course) I was a SWEATY mess after this one. I finished up with some butt exercises (fire hydrants, kick outs, donkey kicks), some ab exercises & inner thigh lifts.

Now on to the good part- DINNER!! Tonight’s dinner was kind of special- it was part of my present to Craig for our anniversary πŸ™‚ As soon as I saw this recipe- Pasta Caprese, I knew this would be a WINNER! I could eat Caprese salad all day long without any hesistation πŸ™‚Β 

PASTA CAPRESE

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 shallot, minced (or small onion)
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 teaspoon sugar (optional)
  • 2 pounds mixed heirloom tomatoes, cored, seeded and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 pound pasta, such as campanelle, penne or fusilli
  • 12 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest

Directions

Whisk the olive oil, lemon juice, shallot and garlic in a large bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Add sugar, if desired (depending on the sweetness of your tomatoes). Add the tomatoes and gently toss. Marinate at room temperature, about 15 minutes.

olive oil, lemon juice, garlic & onion

with tomatos added

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the pasta and cook as the label directs. Drain in a colander and run under cold water to stop the cooking.

cooked noodles

Add the pasta and mozzarella to the tomato mixture and toss. Stir in the basil and lemon zest, and season with salt and pepper. Refrigerate, tossing occasionally, until serving.

FRESH mozzarella- mmm

FRESH basil

all mixed up

Now, I added some marinated chicken to the pasta because Craig prefers to have protein with pasta- not just pasta. But, either way works πŸ™‚

The marinade I used

cooking the chicken

the mix with chicken

dinner is served!

Not to toot my own horn, but this is DANG good!!!! πŸ˜€ If you like caprese salad- like the kind with just tomatos & mozzarella, you will LOVE this. I am DEFINITELY saving this recipe & will be making it for my next get together- or whenever family comes in town- I wanna show it off- haha πŸ™‚

Something even better to end our night with is this:

CARVEL ICE CREAM CAKE!!

I got this for Craig- I know it’s his favorite. Usually he has this every year for his birthday, but he didn’t have it this year- since I made all of those cupcakes instead. I figured this would be a good time to surprise him with one of these- it’s a mini one πŸ™‚ I just showed him after dinner & he keeps asking me about every 5 minutes if I am ready for ice cream cake yet – LOL! Looks like it will be in our future VERY shortly!

Hope you have a good night! I ALMOST just said Sunday night, but then I remembered that it’s Monday! YAY for no Monday morning blues tomorrow πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Those pumpkin waffles look really good! I love anything with pumpkin and I love interval running workouts they are so great for blasting a lot of calories in a short period of time! =)

    Reply
  2. Love Arnold presses. I did them yesterday as well. Sounds like a lovely meal. The hubs and I try to space out the courses too when we are eating at nicer restaurants where we know we’ll be enjoying more than just an app or salad and dinner.

    Reply
  3. I love the exercise pictures — the arnold press guy is hilarious πŸ™‚

    I love hearing all of your wedding planning stuff. Jason and I are planning to go to an all inclusive resort for a vacation next year. For our honeymoon we rented a small cabin in Northern MN — it had a little kitchen, a bed and a hot tub in the room. That was plenty πŸ™‚

    Poor Craig — I haven’t had a shot in over a year and I can’t handle them, they get me so sick!

    Reply
  4. love teh sound of pasta caprese! YUM!

    Reply
  5. Your pasta caprese looks sooo good!!!!!

    Reply
  6. Look at you girl planning your honeymoon. That’s so cool. I can’t even think about incline running right now.. it makes my legs hurt just to think about. Oh, and after I drink, I always need greasy food. So basically Saturday morning I had McDonalds breakfast. lol, whoops.

    Reply
  7. Angie Gensler

     /  September 7, 2010

    I love to read about wedding planning. I had so much fun planning my own wedding and I miss it so much! I definately think you should go with a photo booth at the reception. My husband and I own a photo booth company in KC and every wedding we do the bride and groom are so grateful and tell us it was the life of the party. The guests always stick around a long time and they leave with a perfect party favor. I also recommend looking for a non-traditional photo booth in your city. For ideas you can check out our website: http://agoodtimephotobooth.com/

    Reply
  8. peanutbutterfingers

     /  September 8, 2010

    that workout looks fantastic! i just printed it off to keep in my gym bag! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  9. Jacqueline

     /  September 9, 2010

    You know you can have two maid of honors since one is married she would be the matron of honor and then your other friend would be the maid of honor

    Reply
  1. Cocoa Overload « Peanut Butter Fingers
  2. Peanut Butter Fingers » A Touring I Will Go
  3. My Beliefs. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  4. run like the rain. | tales of mileage in manhattan
  5. Today’s Workout: Hills - Two by the Sea

Leave a comment