Forgive Me Food

Good Morning & HAPPY Saturday!! I’ve been looking forward to the weekend all week 😀 Today we have a bunch of wedding stuff planned, including going to get all of the tuxes picked out for the groomsmen & the Dads as well as going to look at wedding bands. YAY!! Can’t wait!

First, I have to share something with you…sometimes I am not a nice person. Sometimes I say things I don’t mean. Sometimes I blow things out of proportion. Sometimes it’s hard for me to express my emotions & feelings in the right way. I know this is true of everyone…we all have our moments, but I just hate when it happens. I just want to push the ‘rewind’ button & go back in time.

Something that I have noticed about myself is that in order to express my apologizes to someone I tend to bake them something, or make them a fancy meal. Of course I do say sorry too, but sometimes I feel like I need to do more….and that’s when I turn to cooking. I feel like it’s comforting & I know people enjoy it. I always try to cook with EXTRA love if I’m trying to get forgiveness. Does anyone else do this, cook for someone to apologize…or on top of apologizing?

My ‘please forgive me’ food of choice was something with sprinkles. Because as Julie says, Rainbow Sprinkles Make Life Better, I couldn’t agree more 🙂

Cake Batter Pancakes courtesy of Jess, of course 😀
The recipe below is copied DIRECTLY from Jess’ site- I only changed a few things, based on what I had.

makes about 12 pancakes

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup yellow cake mix ( I used the reduced sugar yellow cake mix)

1 tablespoon sugar

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

2 eggs ( I used 1 egg & 1 egg white)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1-2 cups milk (I used vanilla almond milk)

assorted sprinkles

Combine flour, cake mix, baking powder, sugar and salt in a bowl and mix. Add 1 cup of milk, egg and vanilla extract and stir until smooth. You want the batter to look like regular pancake batter; not too thin, not too thick. This will vary greatly on the brand of cake mix you use. Start with 1 cup of milk and add more if needed. I suggest a small taste test as well to see if the pancakes are flavored enough.

Preheat a skillet on medium heat (I use an electric grilled and turn it to 250 degrees). Fold desired amount of sprinkles into batter. Pour batter in 1/4 cup measurements onto skillet and let cook until bubbles form on top, about 2-3 minutes.

Flip and cook for 1 minute more. Serve with vanilla glaze.




Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 tablespoon milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

assorted sprinkles

Mix milk, extract and powdered sugar until glaze forms. You may need to add a little more sugar or water/milk to reach desired consistency. Mix into glaze and drizzle on pancakes.

I hope that these pancakes did the trick! I thought they were PERFECT. Cake batter for breakfast?! YES, please 😀

Now, since I postponed Day 3 of the 30 Day challenge– here it is- My views on drugs & alcohol.
I always grew up as the goodie two shoes. I NEVER drank in high school & didn’t even touch any kind of alcohol until the summer before college, & even that was like 2 sips of beer. (I thought beer was totally disgusting & couldn’t even finish it.) But it all kind of changed once I was hanging out with the wrong group of people.
I’ll start with alcohol because I need to break it into three catergories- Beer, wine & liquor.

Beer
I’m not really a beer drinker at all. I never have been, I’ve always picked liquor over beer. The only time I really like to drink beer is if it is Blueberry beer or Woodchuck beer.

Although I can’t really call these ‘beer’…they are more girly beer 😀 But, hey, there’s NOTHING wrong with some girly beer 🙂

Wine
It took me a while to really enjoy a glass of wine. I believe it’s true that it sometimes takes a while to acquire a taste for wine. I now definitely have a taste for wine 😀 It is now my drink of choice, particularly pinot grigio or riesling at happy hour or red wine (pinor noir or cabernet) with dinner. Two glasses is definitely my limit, otherwise a headache will definitely be in my future.

Liquor
Vodka used to be my drink of choice, particularly vodka with diet coke & two limes. That is what I ordered religiously whenever we went out (like the partying days of college) or at dinner. 
Now I really cannot enjoy vodka, it is too strong for me. I feel like that’s just me getting older, but I don’t mind. I don’t need to drink liquor. Sometimes I actually feel like it makes my attitude change. I don’t feel like the same person.

Overall my opinion on alcohol is that it definitely can be enjoyed & CAN be part of a healthy lifestyle. I don’t find anything wrong with a glass of wine with dinner every now & then…or every night, if that’s what you want. 🙂 There is DEFINITELY a line that can be crossed with alcohol. You need to know your limit, but the problem is that most people DON’T know their limit. Once you start drinking your self control tends to be pushed aside. I personally know that my limit is TWO drinks in one sitting. If it’s an all day drinking kind of day (like birthday parties, or whatever the case my be) I will drink more, BUT I will also drink a glass of water in between each drink. <– that’s what I did for New Years & I was PERFECT the next day, no hangover & I even went running..everyone else thought I was insane- lol!

Next topic, Drugs.
You know how I told you about the ‘wrong group of people,’ relating to alcohol, well the same is true for drugs. Don’t get me wrong, PLEASE, I was NEVER into heavy drugs or anything of that nature. The guy that I was with before Craig was a really bad influence on me. Of course I’m not blaming everything on him because it is not all his fault. They were all decision that I made, no one forced decisions on me, but the peer pressure was definitely there.

I have smoked marijuana, on more than one occassion. I don’t anymore, the last time I did was probably about 3 & 1/2 years ago. (when I was with that not so good ex boyfriend) I can’t say I didn’t have fun, I did- all I did was laugh & laugh & eat a bunch of cheetos 🙂 But it is definitely NOT part of a healthy lifestyle.

In my HONEST opinion though, I really do think that marjiuana should be legalized. I think it’s much safer than alcohol- I mean when you smoke marijuana you just laugh..non stop..and then you want to eat- A LOT. When you drink it’s a whole different story, some peopel get violent, then they drink & drive…it’s awful! Of course smoking is bad for your health, it kills your lungs…but alcohol kills your liver. It’s like just let people decide for themselves whether or not they want to drink alcohol or smoke marijuana.

That’s just my opinion though, I know other people have strong feelings about both of those topics.
I’d love to hear your thoughts & opinions on it as well! Let me know what you think!

Hope you have a GREAT weekend- stay warm if you’re in one of those locations with the crazy winter weather!! 🙂

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Amanda

     /  January 29, 2011

    Those pancakes look sooo good!

    I have mixed feelings about the legalization of marijuana…to my knowledge, there is no way to quickly/easily test the presence of marijuana (or other drugs) in ones system, unlike alcohol where a breath test can be performed within seconds. It’d be more difficult to enforce a legal limit like we have with alcohol in order to keep drunk/impaired drivers off the road.

    Reply
  2. Do you why I love your blog? Because honestly out of the few i have read, you have taken a completely different approach on this challenge. I don’t know of any blogger that went into details about their drinking habits or anything in college. Most people just say they don’t drink and never did a drug. Thank you for being so open and honest-it’s what sreiously makes your blog fabulous. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Thanks for your honest opinion on the drug issue. It was refreshing to read. Though I might not necessarily agree, I see and understand where you are coming from on the issue.

    Reply
  4. Girl I think we all can be mean and nasty sometimes no matter how hard we try not to. I know I’m guilty of that as well. Hope you’re having a good weekend!

    Reply
  5. Glass of water between drinks helps so much! U dont wake up looking like hell LOL… good post.. love those pancakes!

    Reply
  1. Quick Bread & Capricorns. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. Chocolate Cake Batter Pancakes « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a comment