Spoke Too Soon?

Good Mornin’ to ya!

I feel like I really need a new greeting, I hate starting every post with ‘good morning.’ Maybe when I’m feeling more creative I’ll think of something. 🙂

I have a new recipe to share with you! It’s another vegetarian dish. Love those.
Ok guys, I have to be honest here. Honesty is the best policy…right?! 😉 So this whole vegetarian thing is going really well. The ONLY thing is that I’m thinking about everything…and well, I LOVE seafood. I love shrimp, mahi mahi, CRAB (only MD crab though), scallops, salmon, ALL of it.

So, I don’t really know what to say. I just think that I would miss it too much..and I don’t want to say that I’m doing something when I’m really not. Does that make sense? And I don’t want to miss out on food that I really enjoy. I can easily live without red meat, haven’t eaten it in over 10 years. Chicken & turkey I’m like eh with. If that makes sense. I could eat them, or leave them. No love loss on my behalf. But when it comes to seafood…well, that’s a different story.

I could NEVER be able to go to Maryland (where Craig is from & his family still lives there) & not eat a huge plate of crabs.

YUM. Those would be one of my favorite foods in the world.

EASILY destroyed.


Aww, my cute hubby…like 2 years ago. Isn’t he a stud muffin?! 😉 (& don’t worry, he didn’t actually eat the shell, these aren’t soft shell)

Anyways, I guess what I’m saying is that I will still be eating seafood. I can’t give it up. I guess I didn’t completely think it all through before saying it. I didn’t even think about the fact that vegetarian means NO seafood too. Oops.

No salmon?!?!? Ahhh! I couldn’t handle it!

While talking Liz the other morning, she had me salivating at some of the seafood recipes she was mentioning…and I hated the idea of not being able to eat them. You only get ONE life, and I don’t want to regret not eating seafood in order to stick to something that I said on my blog.

I feel kind of like a let down, but I guess I didn’t really think everything through when I initially decided about going 100% vegetarian. Hopefully you guys know where I’m coming from!! 🙂 I guess the correct ‘name’ for me is pescarian..? The people who only eat seafood. When I was talking to Liz I told her that I feel like there is a ‘name’ for everyone & how they eat. I swear there MUST be some kind of name for someone who eats ice cream all of the time…like Creamitarian or something! 😉

Hope you guys aren’t disappointed in me. I still plan to stick to mostly vegetarian, and I will still have a ton of vegetarian recipes with you…and of course some seafood ones as well. 🙂 I will also be posting meat recipes too, as I said I won’t JUST be cooking vegetarian (& now seafood meals) for our families or any guests we may have. This is a well- rounded blog 😉

Today I have a new recipe to share with you…

Caesar Salad Pasta

Ingredients:
-6 oz. fettucine (I used Carba Nada noodles)
-8 faux chicken fingers (I used Gardein brand crispy tenders), you could also use 1/2 lb. chicken tenders

-1 roma tomato, chopped
-2 cups romaine lettuce
-1/3 cup Caesar dressing (I used Ken’s Light Caear dressing)

Grated parmesan cheese, for topping

Preparation:
1. Heat the oven, and bake the crispy tenders according to package.
2. Boil water for your  pasta & cook according to directions.
3. As soon as the crispy tenders are done, cut them into bite size pieces.
4. Once the pasta is drained add it back to the pot you cooked it in (or a dish of similar size), add the tomatos and romaine lettuce to the pasta.

5. Next add the cut up tenders & the dressing.

I served it with breadsticks..and it seemed to complete the meal 🙂

 

This fundraiser has two parts.

The first part of the fundraiser is the fun part!

Blogger Live Auction & Bake Sale:

On Monday, July 25th, we will be having a live auction and bake sale from 8:00 AM (EST) to 11:00 PM (EST).

There will be over ONE HUNDRED items to bid on!  Several companies have generously offered amazing gift baskets and packages up for bid.  Some of these blogger-favorite companies are:

  • Annie’s
  • Attune Foods
  • Aurorae Yoga
  • Bob’s Red Mill
  • Bondi Band
  • Chobani
  • Dave’s Killer Bread
  • Great Harvest
  • Handful Bra
  • Larabar
  • LeSportsac
  • Love Grown Foods
  • Marx Foods
  • Nasoya
  • Nourish Tea
  • NuNaturals
  • Peanut Butter & Co
  • Physique57
  • ReNew Life Probiotics
  • Stonyfield Organic
  • The Simply Bar

In addition to the generous donations from these companies, there will be also be several donations from fellow bloggers.

Items will include delicious baked goods, a professional blog makeover, a lifetime recipe hosting service, autographed books & cookbooks from published bloggers, kitchen gadgets & dishes, clothing, accessories and much more.

It’s kind of ridiculous how much amazing stuff there will be for you to bid on!

All bids will start at $10.  All proceeds from the auction will go directly to Susan.

Here is what I will be auctioning off:
1. Brand NEW Dress from White House Black Market with the tags STILL on- NEVER worn. (well except for these photos 🙂 )
<–Front of the dress<–Back of the dress
(don’t laugh at my goofy pose in the first picture 😉 )

NOTHING is wrong with it, I just haven’t had an event that was ‘fancy smancy’ enough to wear it to 😉 I think it is beautiful & would look GREAT on someone!!

I will also be auctioning off a $10 gift card to Starbucks…I mean who doesn’t LOVE Starbucks??! 😀

This is an event not to be missed!  Please join us in The Great Fundraising Act live auction on Monday, July 25th!!

*********************************************************************

Direct Monetary Donations:

The second part of The Great Fundraising Act is for those who would like to make a monetary donation.  Many of you have expressed interest, so we have set up a direct donation account.

You can use PayPal, a bank account or any major credit card to donate to The Great Fundraising Act.  If you would like to do this, simply click here 

I think we could all work together & raise a TON of money for Susan! She is an amazing lady & I’m looking forward to helping her out, & bidding on some FANTASTIC items!! 😀

*MAKE SURE YOU MARK YOUR CALENDARS!!!!*

Hope you have a great day!!! I’ll be back next time with a GIVEAWAY! Woooohooo!

Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. ittybitsofbalance

     /  July 20, 2011

    That pasta looks great 🙂 I might even get a little crazy and sub the chicken for the shrimp! mmmm

    Great job for participating in the fundraiser! I’m sure that beautiful dress of yours will be a hit!

    Reply
  2. I’m auctioning off some healthy bites, yea!! and I think being a “pescatarian” is totally up your alley. meaning you still eat fish/eggs. Thoughts?

    Reply
  3. Don’t worry about it, just makes us more twinsies! I haven’t eaten red meat in like 15 years and I barely eat chicken/turkey. I do love seafood and have it occasionally. I could not give up sushi!

    Reply
  4. That pasta looks awesome!!

    It’s so great that you’re participating in the Great Fundraising Act!! I love that so many people have come together for Susan. 🙂

    Reply
  5. No judgement here… I’m a meat eater, seafood eater, and I’m definitely a “Creamitarian,” as you mentioned in your post! 😉

    Reply
  6. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  July 20, 2011

    You are so funny! I’d love to be a creamatarian!!!!

    Cute dress!!!! xo

    Reply
  7. Great job for promoting this fundraiser so much. I can’t wait for July 25th!

    When I was vegetarian I ended up adding fish bac in after 6 months of so. I missed it plus it helped me ensure I was getting a full range of amino acids!

    Good for you for knowing what you want! It is your life so live it in the way that will make you happiest!

    Reply
  8. Being a pescetarian is totally cool! I completely understand your love for seafood – I am the same way! I could not give it up – especially when I go to the coast of Florida for vacations 🙂 Have a great day!

    Reply
  9. Good for you for doing what you want with the vegetarian thing! No one should be disappointed in you…you have to do what is best for you :). You look so pretty in that dress!!!! I wish I had something to auction off for that fundraiser…I guess I’ll just have to look into trying to get one of the items :).

    Reply
  10. That pasta looks amazing! I am definitely going to have to try that recipe! I think my fiance would love it. He is a big fan of caesar salads. So with pasta added to it, I think it would be a winner! 🙂

    That dress is super cute!

    Reply
  11. Honestly Holly, I don’t care what you eat. I don’t mean that rudely at all…it is just that I don’t read your blog because of the food you eat or the food label you put upon yourself. I read your blog because you are a sweet person and I enjoy your story. So you dont’ need to worry about mee being dissappointed in you because really I don’t care if you eat fish or not. It doesn’t change my opinion about you or your blog. 🙂

    Reply
  12. I really like Gardein products. And as for seafood….to each his own is my thought. To me, being vegetarian/vegan is very personal and we shouldn’t judge those choices.

    Reply
  13. No worries girl, I eat the exact same way. I just call it vegetarian because not everyone knows the pescatarian term so it’s easier that way. Plus like you said, we only get one life. Although I choose to not eat meat now and I never miss chicken, turkey or pork, I can’t imagine never having a steak again. Will I eat one now? No. Will I eat one years from now? Maybe.

    Reply
  14. Tara

     /  July 20, 2011

    Love your blog….I don’t follow it just for the food stuff. I don’t like putting labels on how people eat anyway. I love your recipe ideas. I eat a big variety myself…..lots of vegan, vegetarian, gluten free etc. I love learning and hearing about a variety of things. I enjoy your fun thoughts and personality that come thru on the blog. Your not a fraud at all…..your an honest fun sharing person! Keep it up!!

    Reply
  15. Wow that sounds really cool. I wish I wasn’t going out of town but I’m seriously going to try and get on the laptop. I love love love that dress.

    Reply
  16. that looks really good! and how are those crispy tenders? I get so intimidated by imitation meat because I generally don’t like it so you’re brave in my eyes and I’ve been a vegetarian for 5 years!! Also, who cares if you’re a “pescatarian,” it’s what works for you!! 🙂

    -courtney

    Reply
  17. so you are officially a pescatarian! me too! I cannot live without sea food!!

    Reply
  18. I went back to eating seafood a little over a year of being a vegetarian. I’m so glad I did:)

    Reply
  19. It’s all about being healthy right? That just means more recipes to share and more people that you will be helping to get healthier!
    So, when can you start cooking for us too?;) All of your meals look amazing!

    Reply
  20. I only gave up seafood after 2 years of being vegetarian, and while I normally don’t eat any seafood anymore, I still eat crabs a few times a year. Born and raised in Maryland, gotta have my crabs! I always tell my friends, noone makes you sign a contract when you become a veg, you just do it when you want, how you want, for how long you want. You do YOU 😉

    Reply
  1. a special guest.
  2. Duck Lips & A Giveaway! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  3. In Another Life… « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a comment