Workout Hard Then Eat Lemon Bars

Good Morning 😀

It’s mid week! Wooooohoooo…almost to Friday- you can make it! Today I figured that I would do something different. I was going to share with you my next re-cap of our honeymoon, but I actually have something else to share with you! …it’s getting a little crazy in Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices…we’re switchin’ things up 😉

I thought I would tell you about the new exercise program that I am doing for the next month or so.
I got the book ‘This is Why You’re Fat’ by Jackie Warner…well, actually I downloaded it on my Nook. 🙂

(I can’t but adding, I absolutely LOVE my Nook Color. If you are looking for an e-reader, I say go for a Nook Color!) I had heard pretty good reviews about her book, so I wanted to read it for myself.

I was thinking that it was going to be a lot like Jillian Michaels’ Making the Cut book, but it was actually pretty different. I read ‘Making the Cut’ about a year ago & I found it really interesting. Not only did I enjoy reading it, but I also did all of the workouts- which is a workout program that you follow for 30 days.

I have completely finished reading ‘This is Why You’re Fat,’ but I have started doing the workouts in the book. OH MY GOSH, these workouts are NO JOKE. I did the first one yesterday (aka ‘Routine A’) & it was HARD. I’m in really good shape too (as in running & lifting heavy weights), and these kicked my butt!! I cannot wait to do more of them! You are supposed to do the weight training/ resistance workouts every other day- there are 3 workouts that you rotate during the week. (Routine A, Routine B, & Routine C) You are also supposed to do 20 minutes of cardio 5 days a week. Of course I plan on doing more cardio, like on the days that there is not a resistance routine just to keep up my cardio level. I think I will probably do about 50 minutes every other day, and then on the days that there is a resistance workout I will only do 20 minutes along with the workout.

Hopefully that makes sense! Sorry if it was kind of hard to follow.

Just wondering if anyone else has done these workouts in the book?? If you have, what did you think? What move did you think was the hardest? (The ‘UFC’ exercises are KILLER in my opinion)

Now I have something else with you– a NEW recipe!! I have not posted one of these in a while, so I figure it was time. 🙂 The recipe today is courtesy of Liz at Blog is the New Black. I saw this recipe for Lemon Bars the week that I got back from our honeymoon &  I KNEW I had to make it. You know that I’m obsessed with anything lemon, but I don’t think I told you that my husband is REALLY obsessed with anything lemon. The two of us are quite a sour pair 😉 (WHOA…way too early for cheesy jokes 🙂 )

Here is Liz’s recipe for the Lemon Bars. I followed it to a tee..and did NOT change a thing! & if you want to see really pretty pictures of the Lemon Bars, you should go to Liz’s blog 😉

Lemon Bars

Slightly adapted from The Nepenthe Cookbook via Eat, Live, Run

Yields 16 bars

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 sticks cold butter
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 2/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • additional confectioners sugar for dusting

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350. To make the crust, combine the confectioners sugar, flour and sea salt in a large bowl. Cut in the cold butter and work with your fingers until the mixture resembles cornmeal.


    <–DIG IN!!

  2. Press into a greased nine inch pan and bake for 20 minutes, or until golden.
  3. To make the filling, whisk together the granulated sugar and flour in a bowl. Add the eggs, one at a time, whisking well after each addition. Add the zest and the juice and mix until everything is smooth and combined.
  4. Pour filling over hot crust and return to oven to bake for another twenty minutes. When done, the filling will no longer jiggle. Let cool completely in the pan before slicing and dusting with powdered sugar.

Now, I think I can say that I have found my two favorite things……The Ravens (duh!) & Lemon Bars! 😀 😀

Ok, now, this is just a warning…try not to DROOL all of your computer when you see these pictures!

These bars are literally JUST AS GOOD as they LOOK!! They were a ‘welcome home’ gift for Craig because he was out of town for a few days and I always like to greet him with some kind of baked good. 🙂 I could NOT help myself though, I had to try a sliver…well that sliver EASILY turned into a bar. …and then I had to get out of the kitchen & away from the bars before I made myself sick from eating too many…I just could NOT stay away! I immediately texted Liz & told her that they were the best lemon bars that I have ever tasted. & it was SO true. I know I can sometimes be a bit heavy on the adjectives when describing food, (I’ll be the first to admit it 🙂 ) but these bars were seriously OUT OF THIS WORLD! You HAVE to try them! Craig was beyond excited when he walked in & saw his little treat…I’m pretty sure he likes that his wife loves to bake 😀

Now that I am currently dreaming of laying in bed & eating lemon bars, I guess I should get ready for work, huh?! Jackie Warner is doing a good job kicking my tush so far, so hopefully I don’t have too rough of a time walking today! (Yes, for real, those workouts WILL make you sore!)

I hope you have a great day! I’ll be back tomorrow to continue the honeymoon re-cap!

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Those lemon bars are definitely drool-worthy! I have not tried any of the Jackie Warner workouts – yet : ) I love to read books on fitness/healthy living. I think I will add this one to my long list of must-reads!

    Reply
  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  June 15, 2011

    Ahhhhh, love you so much! Your bars look divine! (I actually froze a few that are still in the freezer… saving them for Father’s Day!) You are too cute. Glad you enjoyed them, sista!

    Reply
  3. Ooo my fiance and I are obsessed with lemon everything too! So tart and refreshing!

    Reply
  4. I’ll be curious to hear how you end up liking that book. I’ve not read it but actually heard good reviews.

    Reply
  5. Those lemon bars look delicious! I too love anything lemon flavored and I actually haven’t made lemon bars for quite a while! I’ll have to give them a try sometime this summer!

    Reply
  6. My high school reunion is in a month and a half (yes 10 year!!!) and I need to get in goood shape. Do you think Jillian or Jackie would be better? Those lemon bars look delicious and I think your picture of them is perfect 🙂 PS Love the Baltimore Ravens placemat in the lemon pic.

    Reply
    • Jackie’s workouts FOR sure. I mean Jillian is good either way (& I LOVE her, so don’t get me wrong) but if you are looking for a HARD core workout program, then go with Jackie’s. I am SORE today from beginning yesterday & I workout like a crazy lady…so she will kick butt! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Oh wow those look awesome! I have a Nook too, and I LOVE it! Mine isn’t color though 😦 I was inspired by your circuit style workout, but I don’t think I’m in good enough shape to do what you did so I created my own! Man was my heart pumping…loved it

    Reply
  8. Those lemon bars look so good! 🙂 I need to try making them.

    Reply
  9. I literally say this title and said story of my life. I love love love lemon bars, I could eat them for everything (but don’t tell the pancakes they might get jealz).

    I’m glad you and your dad have an awesome relationship. I agree-nothing beats father/daughter time.

    Reply
  10. I LOVE a good lemon bar 😀 They are my second fave dessert (after cake OF COURSE)! Definitely going to bookmark this recipe!!

    Reply
  11. Lemon bars were one of the *very few* things my Mom baked so I have a soft spot for them 😉 These look pretty darn incredible!

    Reply
  12. kaylyn

     /  June 15, 2011

    I think I am going to look into that book as well! I am always searching for new workout and eating advice/ideas – thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  13. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  June 15, 2011

    I’m not a fan of lemon so even those the bars look good I don’t think I would enjoy them. Sad I know 😦

    Craig is a very lucky guy to have a wife that loves to bake!

    Reply
  14. Brianna

     /  June 15, 2011

    I actually have the book but am kinda confused on the set up of the workouts. In the book (pg 174) Warner says that “One full routine is the equivalent of one set. Each routine should be performed three times straight through in order of exercises”

    I’m not sure if this means that she wants us to repeat the whole work out (Circuit 1, 2, 3) straight through then go about 2 more times and repeat the circuits again. Or if she want us to do Circuit 1, repeat it twice then move on to Circuit 2.

    What did you do?? Thanks!!

    Reply
    • Hey Brianna!
      I know, it is kind of confusing…but I think I am doing them right.
      What I am doing is going through each circuit (like circuit 1, 2, & 3) 3 times through & THEN moving on to the next one.
      Like I will do all of the exercises in circuit one (3 times through), and then once I am done I move on to the second circuit.
      Hope this makes sense! I don’t know about you, but these workouts are killer!! Those UFCs STILL have my quads hurting today & I did them on Tuesday! Oh, and they definitely take me about 50 minutes to do the routines, not 30 minutes. And then I do my 20 minutes of cardio after I am done with the routines.

      Reply
  15. Wow I want those lemon bars, they look delicious. I’ve seen that book from Jackie before but I’ve never read it 🙂

    Reply
  16. im glad you tried one! after working hard to make them- u deserved ATLEAST one

    Reply
  17. kp

     /  June 16, 2011

    I really think it is unhealthy for someone so thin to be reading a book called “This is why you’re fat”

    Reply
  18. Jackie Warner workouts are ridiculous! I consider myself to be in pretty good shape and they kick my butt everytime! I really want to get her book, especially after reading this! Also awesome lemon squares!

    Reply
  1. Stuffed Red Velvet Cupcakes « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a comment